Skip to content

2/18/92 — Our NICU Journey Day 94

February 18, 2011

Isaac — 1050 grams

Molly — 1468 grams

 

Big brother Ian and big sister Becky with Molly on our family visit on 2/22. This was actually Kenn's birthday and the day after Ian's 13th birthday. I'm thinking that at 13, Ian probably could have thought of a million better ways to celebrate than hanging out with babies in the hospital. I hope he has forgiven us. Becky already looks like an old pro.

Isaac

You will be getting some blood today. You are looking a little pale you have been creeping up on your Os, so a little blood should help.

Molly

Molly, I got to breast feed you for the first time today. You did great. You seemed a little confused, but your sats were fine and you actually sucked. Good girl.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. February 18, 2011 2:01 pm

    I am so glad to read this. I just found your blog and can’t wait to find the time to catch up on reading it. I had my twins on November 1, 2010 at 35 weeks. So they were tiny, but not quite like your pair. We did have to spend time in the NICU, so I can relate. I recently started my blog to journal my experience, but have done just about everything else. It was so hard, I guess I’m just not quite ready yet. But reading your blog is very helpful. Thanks for sharing.

    • February 19, 2011 3:57 pm

      I’m glad you found reading about Isaac and Molly inspiring. You will never regret keeping a journal, although I’m sure you are absolutely swamped right now caring for your twins. Keeping a journal and remembering how they started has helped me through many a tough day along the way. I wish you and your twins all the best. I found a great mothers of multiples group in my area and it honestly saved my life when my twins were little. I strongly suggest hooking up with such a group if you can. It’s great to be around other moms who “get” it. Good luck.

  2. February 18, 2011 3:11 pm

    Beautiful Family!

  3. meggiev777 permalink
    February 18, 2011 6:04 pm

    Wow-I’m so totally impressed. I also had a 24-week preemie. His name was Tommy, and he lived for 11 days. I’m thankful for you, Ike, and Molly, and more than a little jealous. Your babies were born in Feb; mine was born in July of that same year. God bless you and your children!

    • February 19, 2011 3:38 pm

      I’m so sorry for your loss. Truly, my biggest fear then was that they would live in pain for months and months, and then die without having lived. My biggest hope now is that by posting these journals I don’t bring more pain to families who have suffered losses like yours. I hope Tommy’s memory is a blessing for you. Thank you for reading and taking the time to comment. Best wishes to you and your family.

  4. February 18, 2011 9:19 pm

    Hi 2kop,

    I’m enjoying reading about your NICU journey. I live on the outskirts of Sydney, Australia, and I also had a premature Molly, in September 2008. I am so glad that your little miracles went on to become healthy children (and now adults), just like my little Molly is now a healthy, active 2 year old.
    My story is less traumatic than yours – Molly was born at 31 weeks, weighing 1700g, so she was leaps and bounds ahead of where your little ones started their journey. But your story still resonates strongly with me, especially when you express your grief at not being able to hold your little ones and take them home with you. We also experienced daily frustrations, and ups and downs (although on a much smaller scale than yours – Molly’s life was never really in the balance, thank goodness). In the end, Molly came home to us after 6 and a half weeks in the NICU, and she has never looked back.
    Thank you for sharing your story here. I think it would have been a great comfort to me when I was going through a similar experience, as I would have seen all of my own emotions and frustrations being validated by someone who knew exactly what it was like.
    Your journal makes me wish I had kept one, too. I will never forget how upsetting those long weeks were, but I have lost some of the minor details, which have only come back to me on reading your own daily account.
    Luckily, we have all fully recovered from the ordeal, and have put it behind us. But every now and then I think it is good to remind ourselves of our little Molly’s rocky start to life, lest we ever take the simple things for granted.
    Keep up the good work!

    Anna

    • February 19, 2011 3:17 pm

      Anna — six and half weeks is a long time on the NICU. I know parents who have spent less than a day on the NICU and found that the experience never leaves them completely. I’m glad your little Molly is doing so well (and, of course, I love her name!) I wish we had had the Internet back then, too, because I think it would have been incredibly helpful to read about parents who were having similar experiences, especially if there children were further along on their journey. I can only hope this blog will reach some of those parents now. It has been good for me to relive those days through this blog and remember not to take the simple things for granted. Thanks again, and best wishes to you and your family.

Leave a Reply

