Skip to content

2/19/92 — Our NICU Journey Day 95

February 19, 2011

Isaac — 1039 grams

Molly — 1419 grams

 

Here's Isaac and his beloved Binky, apparently being watched over by a guardian Elmo (a preemie-sized Elmo, at that). By this point Molly was known far and wide as Miss Molly, but Isaac had a whole collection of nicknames: Ike, Ikester, Ikeman, Ike the Spike. That's a lot of names for such a little guy.

Isaac

My dear Isaac. You are still up there in the 30s on your Os. This is bothering me a bit. I’m already very concerned about your eyes and I’d be much happier if you didn’t need any oxygen at all. You nose sounds a little stuffy. You’ve got a little indentation on the roof of your mouth from having the ET in for so long, and thick gooey stuff tends to accumulate up there. That can’t be too comfortable. Now that you are more than 1000 grams, you get weighed every day, just like all the other babies. I don’t know if this is a blessing or a curse, though. You have kind of plateaued, up just two grams yesterday, down 11 today. This is the frustrating part, just waiting and waiting. We have got your room almost all done. I can’t wait to bring you home.

Molly

Big weight loss last night, Mol — 49 grams. But you have had several days of big weight gains and you were getting all puffy. Your eyes were really swollen last night, so they upped your Lasix dose a bit. You still look puffy though, so I guess I can’t bee too upset that you appear to be losing weight. When it’s all just fluid, that doesn’t count as real weight gain.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Jamie permalink
    February 19, 2011 7:50 am

    I just found your blog, and it is wonderful! We have boy/girl twins that were born at 25 weeks in 2004 weighing 1lb 10oz and 1lb 6oz. They were in the NICU for 13 weeks, and came home together 2 weeks before their due date. It was a rough 13 weeks. Our son failed on the conventional vent, and he was on the oscillator for nearly 4 weeks. He also had renal failure 3 times, and he had Stage 3+ ROP, which required laser surgery in the NICU. He also gave us a few scares with the head ultrasounds. We nearly lost him, but you wouldn’t know it today! Our daughter was smaller, but she didn’t have as many complications. She had to have surgery for a central line and had a hard time coming out of it after surgery, but in general, she did fairly well for a 25 weeker.

    I too kept a journal. It is something that I hold dear to my heart. It was theraputic to write every day as I sat there never wanting to leave their side. One day I hope I have the courage to do the same as you! The one thing I wish is that there was more support for the parents in the NICU. Hopefully some of those parents can find this blog as encouragement!

    • February 19, 2011 2:59 pm

      Jamie — thanks for your kind words. Having two babies on the NICU at the same time is exhausting, both emotionally and physically. I’m glad to hear your babies are doing well. You will always be so glad for the journals you kept during that time. I only wish I had continued journaling about them (and my other children). I guess life just got in the way, and that’s a good thing. I do hope other preemie parents find this blog and find courage and inspiration from it. Best wishes to you and your family.

  2. bluerosegirl08 permalink
    February 19, 2011 11:25 am

    Speaking as a disabled adult who was born preemie I agree with your partner, possible blindness is preferable any to death. Take a deep breath, you will get through this.

    • February 19, 2011 3:03 pm

      Thank you so much for your comment. I always knew that it was true that they could live healthy, happy, meaningful lives if they were blind. Our NICU journey was such a roller coaster ride, and it seemed just when when we hit a comfortable plateau, the bottom would drop again and we would go plunging at break-neck speed over the next series of dips and falls. It was hard to keep my perspective sometimes. That’s something I still work on every day. Reliving our days on the NICU has reminded me again to be grateful and not sweat the small (or even not-so-small stuff), but to just keep living. We were fortunate in that both cases of ROP resolved on their own. My son wears glasses for nearsightedness (as do both his father and I), but my daughter has 20-20 vision. More blessings to count.

  3. February 19, 2011 3:59 pm

    I found “Mike & Ollie” and I read the whole blog.
    This is a wonderful journal. I so admire the parents who had to go through all this and the mother who was writing it. I guess this gave her strength of some sort.
    I know what it feels like to worry every day whether your child will live or not, I’ve gone through that, and there is probably nothing worse.
    I will continue reading. Well done guys.

    • February 19, 2011 4:22 pm

      Thank you for your kind comments. I started the journals as a way to keep track of the medial issues facing my two sick babies, but it did prove to be a kind of therapy along the way. I hope things are going well with your family. Thanks for reading and commenting.

Leave a Reply

