Skip to content

5/17/92 (Day 183) — Preemies at Home, day 50

May 17, 2011

I hope you will forgive me, dear readers, for some mistaken dates in this online journal. I'm piecing the preliminary version of this memoir together from so many sources, and it seems I had the date of Isaac's bris (and consequently, the date of Ian's bar mitzvah) all wrong. Ike's bris was this day, May 17, exactly six months after his birth. I discovered this in the nurses notes about today. I don't know how I got the dates so confused. Our photo album was mislabeled. I debated going back and revising earlier posts to reflect the correct dates, but I've decided against it for now, especially since I'm still playing catchup on the blog. This is why we do research before we actually publish our memoirs (I wouldn't want to risk having "Million Little Pieces" scandal). Rest assured that I'll get it all straight. This blog is part of the research and writing process. The words are all true; the pictures are mine; the dates need occasional verification. Thanks for bearing with me.

Home nursing notes:

Isaac

Isaac was circumcised today! He did very well! He only cried for a few minutes and then he was a little angel. At about 1:30 p.m., he began getting fussy. I gave him some Tylenol and he quieted right down. At diaper changes we are putting Neosporin ointment on gauze and applying the gauze over his penis.

Molly

Molly is nasally congested. Her respiratory rates were 60s-70s. Breath sounds clear. Her O2 sats 95-96%. Subcostal retractions. She has been very pink all day. She set off her alarm twice today while stretching (bradycardia). When I checked, her heart rate was in the 140s both times. Just keep a close eye on her! Thanks. — Alisa

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

