Skip to content

5/19/92 (Day 185) — Preemies at Home, day 52

May 19, 2011

Ike, awake and alert — this was pretty new behavior. Though feeding better, Ike was still taking about 8-10 teaspoons per feeding and having to feed more often than Molly. It was such a blessing to have nurses during the night with two babies who behaved like newborns for many months, needing to be feed often every one or two hours all day and all night long. i was still pumping, but I was not producing enough milk for both of them. Nursing burned too many calories. I tried nursing them at least once a day, but it was mainly for comfort and to see if would stimulate my milk production. Their real nutrition had to come from the preemie bottles, which had soft nipples and large holes, making their feedings as easy as possible. The whole bottle feeing/ breast feeding debate was in full swing back then, but I had to close my ears to much of it, since both sides of the issue found fault in my efforts. All I could do was what was best for my babies in the moment. Pumping for six months was grueling (and I continued to do it for two more months). There was no physical or emotional gratification except the intellectual knowledge that I was trying to provide for them.

Home nursing notes:

Isaac

Awake and fussy at 1:00 a.m., up for feeding, changed and circ care done. Nippled 50 ccs formula, burped well. Fussy at 3:00, diaper changed and circ care done. Up for feeding nippling 30 ccs. Returned to crib after burping. Up and awake for feeding at 6:00 a.m., nippled 75 ccs, burped well. Awake and fussy at 8:00 a.m., up for feeding, change and circ care.

Molly

Up with dad at midnight. Diaper changed and Lasix given. Up for feeding, nippled 30 ccs formula, burped well. Returned to crib prone. Awake and fussy at 3:00 a.m., changed diaper, offered bottle, nippled 40 ccs. Awake and up for feeding at 7:00 a.m. Nippled 60 ccs formula, burped well, returned to crib prone. Awake and quiet at 8:30 a.m. Slight nasal congestion noted, bulb syringed for scant amount of yellow secretions. No nasal flaring, slight subcostal retractions, respiratory rate 62 at this time.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. jamie permalink
    May 27, 2011 12:56 pm

    My twins were 25 weekers born in 2004, and they too were too small and weak to nurse in the beginning. They got used to the bottle in the NICU, so I pumped until their 1st adjusted birthday. When they were in the NICU (for 13 weeks), pumping milk for them helped me feel like I was doing something motherly even if they only took 2 or 3 cc a feed. Kudos to you for attempting to nurse and pumping for them.

    By the way, you inspired me to type up my journal I kept while my twins were in the NICU. I printed it out along with all sorts of pictures, scanned growth charts, therapy reports in a hard cover book from Blurb.com. It is something I will always cherish. You could that with this blog too. A wonderful keepsake!

    • May 27, 2011 1:15 pm

      Hi, Jamie. I totally agree about pumping. In the beginning especially it was the only thing that made me feel like their mom and I knew that the colostrum would provide some of my immunities for them, even though it was a long time before they were able to drink it. Who knew that the pump and the freezer would be such important technology for our babies? By this stage of the game, I was just getting very weary of pumping. It took hours out of my day with very little to show for it, and it was exhausting. I wouldn’t change anything, but I do remember hating that pump.

      I’m glad I inspired you to put together all your memories and journals into a keepsake book. It’s a great idea. For me, this is part of the research I’m doing for my memoir. There are so many great options now, and being able to share this blog has been both humbling and gratifying. My best wishes to you and your family. I hope your twins continue to do well.

Leave a Reply

