Skip to content

World Prematurity Day is Coming Up

October 9, 2013

World Prematurity Day 2013As some of you know, November 17 is Isaac and Molly’s birthday. In a true example of serendipity, November 17 is also World Prematurity Day. Coincidence? Probably, but nothing about their births or their lives has been less than miraculous, so who am I to question this cosmic accident. Perhaps its just a way to bring more attention to the good works done by the people who support and care for preemies and their families.

Each year around this time, people find this blog, which covers the 5+ months that Ike and Molly spent on the NICU (at Evanston Hospital, it was called the ISCU—Infant Special Care Unit). I posted verbatim the daily journals I kept back then. If it’s your first visit here, I suggest you start with the first post. The videos are pretty awesome, too.

I am working on a memoir about raising these amazing people. One essay, called “Just Breathe”, about Isaac’s near fatal illness during his NICU stay, was recently published in the anthology Overcoming.

For those of you counting, Isaac and Molly will turn 22 this November 17. (Another miracle, since their mother just turned 25 in September 😉 ) I’ll post a new picture soon.

If you have a preemie story, I’d love to hear about it. Just leave me a message.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 10, 2013 1:47 pm

    As a mother of six-month-old (corrected) boy/girl twins born at twenty-five weeks gestation, seeing your beautiful children all grown up and thriving is just about the most encouraging thing I could ask for. Hopefully, 22 years from now, I will have the same thing! Thank you for sharing your story 🙂

  2. October 11, 2013 3:43 pm

    Alana, so glad you found the blog helpful. I’ve gotten amazing feedback from preemie parents just like you, as well as NICU doctors and nurses, and the friends and families of preemies. It’s been a crazy, wonderful journey. Isaac and Molly came home from the hospital at about 5 months. Believe it or not, we finally stopped saying “corrected age”, but not for years. I remember those early days at home with them vividly. Enjoy them now and take lots of pictures. Let me know if I can help in any way.

  3. Rowena Evangelista permalink
    June 24, 2015 4:38 am

    Hi Ma’am! I am truly inspired by your story. I am currently experiencing it now. My babies are 29-weeker weighing 750g and the other one is 1.1 kls. They are on their 24th day in the NICU and things have not been doing well. Both of them are struggling with lungs and heart (with pda) complications. Yes, having experiencing all these is like a roller coaster ride.. I really don’t know what to expect and what to look forward to.. Though I know my babies are fighters considering the other one has grade 1 IVH. As a first time mom this situation is really difficult. I hope you can share more stories, milestones, etc about your twins while they are still at NICU 22 years ago. Thank you!

    • Rowena Evangelista permalink
      June 24, 2015 4:42 am

      Not to mention that medication and hospitalization are really expensive. It came to a point that I doubted if we can still push through with it considering the cost it demands but I realize life of my twins are priceless and nothing ever in this world can replace them.

      • June 24, 2015 7:55 am

        And yes, the care that preemies need is very expensive. I’m sure things are even more expensive now. We were so fortunate to have extremely good health insurance at that time. MiracleBabies.org is one resource that provides information, support and financial assistance to families with critically ill newborns in the NICU.

    • June 24, 2015 7:48 am

      Hi, Rowena. My heart is with you and your twins. That first month in particular is very hard and long, as it seems like each day brings something new and scary. The nurses were our lifeline on the NICU, because they were the ones giving day-to-day care to our babies, answering our questions, and helping us with our emotions and fears. Many things have certainly changed since we were on the NICU, but it is still a long and difficult journey. Here is a link to the journal entries I wrote on our 24th day in the NICU, so you can see where Isaac and Molly were at the same stage as your twins. I was a first-time mom as well, and in some ways that was a blessing. I saw moms with older children who were so tired and conflicted because they had to divide their time and energy between the hospital and their older children at home. I had two older step children, but they had their own mom, so I was not responsible for their daily care. I’m happy if the stories I’ve posted here can help you. Feel free to email me if you want to have a more private conversation. I’d love to hear more about your babies and how they (and you) are doing, so keep me posted.

Leave a Reply

